NZ Deaf News: December 1980 (Vol. 17, No. 6)

Some of the items featured in the December 1980 (Vol. 17, No. 6) issue of ‘New Zealand Deaf News’:

  • The NZ Society for the Deaf has been re-named the ‘New Zealand Combined Societies for the Deaf’.
  • The Auckland Drama Club will be having their social which will involve a contest between sections for the best act. 
  • Work has been going on in preparation for the International Year of the Disabled Person (1981). Telethon 1981 will be for the disabled.
  • New Zealand players selected for the World Deaf Games in Germany in July 1981, with a B team also selected. 
  • Results of the 25th New Zealand Deaf Sports Convention. 
  • Stop Press! The first model of the TTY, the ‘Porta Printa’ MK 2 costs $1,000. This machine is completely portable and has a two inch paper print-out, which means that copy is kept of all conversations. 
  • TVNZ recently announced it would run a subtitled weekly news programme for the deaf which will start February 1981. The format will be based on the BBC programme ‘News Review’. Auditions for a presenter will be conducted in Christchurch shortly.
  • Deaf Organisations
  • TV/Media
Reference number:
SignDNA – Deaf National Archive New Zealand, DN1980-17-6-MJN