NZ Deaf News: 1971 (Vol. 8, No. 4)

Some of the items featured in the 1971 Issue of ‘NZ Deaf News’ (Vol. 8, No. 4): 

  • There are 22 deaf children attending the Onekawa Primary School Deaf unit. The Hawkes Bay Parents of Deaf Children Association celebrates its five year anniversary.
  • Manawatu had a birthday social, with a particular game particularly popular – the candle blowing competition. Everyone had a go trying to blow out the candle and blow it out as many times as possible, using one matchstick! Max Howell won with 40 blows.
  • The first draft of the new constitution for amalgamation of the Friends of the Deaf and the Auckland Deaf Society has been prepared and is being studied by the sub-committee. 
  • Results from the 16th Annual Deaf Sports Convention in Christchurch, with more than 200 deaf people in attendance. Some had not seen the new clubrooms and were most impressed.
  • Deaf Organisations
  • TV/Media
Reference number: