Jeff Went

Prizegiving evening: 34th NZ Games for the Deaf (Auckland)

The 34th New Zealand Games for the Deaf, hosted by Auckland, concludes with a prizegiving and social evening at Auckland Deaf Society 1990.
Image for Prizegiving evening: 34th NZ Games for the Deaf (Auckland)

The 34th New Zealand Deaf Games were hosted in Auckland. With the impact of the 1989 World Deaf Games in Christchurch still fresh in everyone’s minds, the social evening is a memorable one to close the 34th games, complete with a banner outside ADS, happy hour drinks at the Clubroom upstairs, and a banquet dinner in the hall held on Sunday 21st October, 1990.

Prizegiving speeches from Jeff Went, Chairman of the ADS Host Sub-Committee; Tony Walton, President of the New Zealand Deaf Sports Association, Wallace Williams, President of Auckland Deaf Society.

The Colin Kay Cup for most Outstanding Sportsperson of the NZ Deaf Games went to Fetuao Ualesi. Aotearoa Turi shield went to Auckland and was accepted by Ngaire Doherty.

  1. Annette Chillingworth

  2. Dennis Robinson

  3. Fetuao Ualesi

  4. Harry Hanley

  5. Jeff Went

  6. Ngaire Doherty

  7. Ray Jenkin

  8. Rob Currington

  9. Sue Williams

  10. Tony Walton

  11. Wallace Williams

Donated by Jeff Went
Original format VHS
Reference number JW01-01-CE90